The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association’s 35th Annual National Awards presentation was held virtually at Hill ‘n’ Dale at Xalapa in Paris, Ky., on Saturday, Sept. 26. Gary Barber was named TOBA’s National Owner of the Year and William S. Farish was named the National Breeder of the Year. Larry Karp of Barlar LLC was named National Small Breeder of the Year and Beyond the Waves was honored with the Broodmare of the Year title.

The National Awards, hosted by Gabby Gaudet, also honored the achievements of Thoroughbred owners and breeders in 22 states and Canada.

Royal Squeeze, who won the 2019 Claiming Crown Rapid Transit Stakes, was honored with the National HBPA Claiming Crown Horse of the Year.

Chaplain Humberto Chavez was honored with the Industry Service Award, awarded to a person or entity who has made exceptional contributions to the industry.

Madaket Stables and Partners received the Cot Campbell Racing Partnership of the Year award.

The Rood & Riddle Sport Horse of the Year went to Jet, owned by Lila Sessums. This award was presented to the owner of the ex-Thoroughbred that has accumulated the most points in competition, as tracked by the United States Equestrian Federation.

In addition, Horse Farms Forever received the Robert N. Clay Award. In partnership with the Equine Land Conservation Resource, this award recognizes a member of the Thoroughbred community who has made an outstanding contribution to preserving land for equine use.

A complete list of winners is as follows:

Finalists for Owner of the Year:
Gary Barber
Peter Brant
Hronis Racing
Klaravich Stables and William Lawrence
Madaket Stables and Partners

Owner of the Year
Gary Barber

State Breeders of the Year:
Arkansas: Bill and Mary McDowell
California: Paul and Zillah Reddam, Reddam Racing LLC
Canada: Tall Oaks Farm
Florida: Charlotte Weber, Live Oak Stud
Indiana: Michael E. and Penny S. Lauer
Iowa: H. Allen Poindexter
Kansas: Jerry Johnson
Kentucky: William S. Farish
Louisiana: Evelyn Benoit
Maryland: Sagamore Farm
Massachusetts: Joe DiRico
Minnesota: Robert Lothenbach
New Jersey: John and Joan Bowers
New Mexico: J. Kirk and Judy Robison
New York: Chester and Mary Broman
North Carolina: Dr. E. Clinton Lowry and Carol Lowry
Ohio: Mapleton Thoroughbred Farm
Oregon: Dr. Jack Root Jr. and Margaret “Cookie” Root
Pennsylvania: Larry Karp, Barlar LLC
South Carolina: Franklin Smith Sr.
Texas: Roy W. Cobb
Virginia: Ann Mudge Backer
Washington: Jody Peetz

National Breeder of the Year:
William S. Farish

National Small Breeder of the Year:
Larry Karp, Barlar LLC

Broodmare of the Year:
Beyond the Waves

Industry Service Award:
Humberto Chavez

Cot Campbell Racing Partnership of the Year:
Madaket Stables and Partners

Claiming Crown Horse of the Year:
Royal Squeeze

Rood & Riddle Thoroughbred Sport Horse of the Year:

Robert N. Clay Award:
Horse Farms Forever


Original source credited to:

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.